Volunteer Training Schedule

The CASA Volunteer Training program consists of 8 in-person 3.5-hour classes, an hour of pre-work for each class and 3 hours of courtroom observation (approximately 39 hours total). You must finish all training and observation by the final deadline and all background checks must be completed and cleared in order to be assigned to a case.

Training Cycle Dates & Calendars

Click on the cycle you're interested in to view the full calendar.

  • Cycle A1: Jan 5–25, Fast Track

    Sat, Jan 5, 9:00 am–12:30 pm: Class 1 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Sat, Jan 5, 1:30–5:00 pm: Class 2 - The Well-Being of a Child
    Mon, Jan 7, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 3 - Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills
    Tues, Jan 8, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 4 - Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication
    Wed, Jan 9, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 5 - Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence
    Thurs, Jan 10, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 6 - Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence
    Mon, Jan 14, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 7 - Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth
    Tues, Jan 15, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 8 - Wrapping Up

    Download a PDF copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle A2:  Jan 22–Feb 22, 6:00–9:30 pm, Tuesdays & Thursdays

    Tues, Jan 22: Class 1 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, Jan 24: Class 2 - The Well-Being of a Child
    Tues, Jan 29: Class 3 - Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills
    Thurs, Jan 31: Class 4 - Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication
    Tues, Feb 5: Class 5 - Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence
    Thurs, Feb 7: Class 6 - Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence
    Tues, Feb 12: Class 7 - Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth
    Thurs, Feb 14: Class 8 - Wrapping Up

    Download a PDF copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle A3: Feb 20–Mar 8, Fast Track

    Wed, Feb 20, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 1 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, Feb 21, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 2 - The Well-Being of a Child
    Sat, Feb 23, 9:00 am–12:30 pm: Class 3 - Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills
    Sat, Feb 23, 1:30–5:00 pm: Class 4 - Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication
    Mon, Feb 25, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 5 - Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence
    Tues, Feb 26, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 6 - Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence
    Wed, Feb 27, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 7 - Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth
    Thurs, Feb 28, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 8 - Wrapping Up

    Download a PDF copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle B1:  Mar 26–Apr 26, 6:00–9:30 pm, Tuesdays & Thursdays

    Tues, Mar 26: Class 1 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, Mar 28: Class 2 - The Well-Being of a Child
    Tues, Apr 2: Class 3 - Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills
    Thurs, Apr 4: Class 4 - Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication
    Tues, Apr 9: Class 5 - Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence
    Thurs, Apr 11: Class 6 - Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence
    Tues, Apr 16: Class 7 - Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth
    Thurs, Apr 18: Class 8 - Wrapping Up

    Download a PDF copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle B2:  Mar 27–Apr 26, 9:00 am–12:30 pm, Wednesdays & Fridays

    Wed, Mar 27: Class 1 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Fri, Mar 29: Class 2 - The Well-Being of a Child
    Wed, Apr 3: Class 3 - Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills
    Fri, Apr 5: Class 4 - Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication
    Wed, Apr 10: Class 5 - Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence
    Mon, Apr 15: Class 6 - Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence (Please note change to Monday)
    Wed, Apr 17: Class 7 - Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth
    Fri, Apr 19: Class 8 - Wrapping Up

    Download a PDF copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle B3: Apr 27–May 17, Fast Track

    Sat, Apr 27, 9:00 am–12:30 pm: Class 1 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Sat, Apr 27, 1:30–5:00 pm: Class 2 - The Well-Being of a Child
    Mon, Apr 29, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 3 - Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills
    Tues, Apr 30, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 4 - Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication
    Wed, May 1, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 5 - Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence
    Thurs, May 2, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 6 - Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence
    Mon, May 6, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 7 - Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth
    Tues, May 7, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 8 - Wrapping Up

    Download a PDF copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle C1:  May 23–June 28, 6:00–9:30 pm, Tuesdays & Thursdays

    Thurs, May 23: Class 1 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Tues, May 28: Class 2 - The Well-Being of a Child
    Thurs, May 30: Class 3 - Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills
    Tues, June 4: Class 4 - Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication
    Thurs, June 6: Class 5 - Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence
    Tues, June 11: Class 6 - Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence
    Thurs, June 13: Class 7 - Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth
    Tues, June 18: Class 8 - Wrapping Up

    Download a PDF copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle C2: June 19–July 5, Fast Track

    Wed, June 19, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 1 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, June 20, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 2 - The Well-Being of a Child
    Sat, June 22, 9:00 am–12:30 pm: Class 3 - Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills
    Sat, June 22, 1:30–5:00 pm: Class 4 - Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication
    Mon, June 24, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 5 - Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence
    Tues, June 25, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 6 - Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence
    Wed, June 26, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 7 - Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth
    Thurs, June 27, 6:00–9:30 pm: Class 8 - Wrapping Up

    Download a PDF copy of this schedule.

Additional Training Expectations

Pre-Work:  There will be approximately an hour of reading, videos and other Pre-Work prior to each of the 8 classes that you are expected to complete in order to fully participate in class.  

Courtroom Observation: 3 Hours of Courtroom Observation to be completed by deadline listed in the PDF schedule for each cycle

Swearing-In Ceremony: Attend this celebratory ceremony to take your volunteer oath after completing training. Tentative dates are:

Cycle F: Thursday, November 29th, 6:30 pm
Cycle F3 Fast Track: Thursday, January 3rd, 6:30 pm
Cycle A: Thursday, March 14th, 6:30 pm
Cycle B: Monday, May 20th, 6:30 pm
Cycle C: Thursday, July 11th, 6:30 pm

Confirmed dates and locations will be announced at the start of your training cycle.

Continuing Ed: You will be required to complete 12 hours of Continuing Education each year that you are an active volunteer. We offer a variety of trainings and activities to help volunteers complete this requirement. 


For questions regarding the training schedule please email volunteer@casatravis.org.