Volunteer Training Schedule

The new CASA Volunteer Training program consists of 8 in-person 3.5-hour classes, an hour of pre-work for each class and 3 hours of courtroom observation (approximately 39 hours total) completed over a 5-week cycle. You must finish all training and observation within the 5 weeks and all background checks must be completed and cleared in order to be assigned to a case.

Training Cycle Dates & Calendars

Click on the cycle you're interested in to view the full calendar.

  • Cycle E1: Aug 27 – Sept 28, 9:00 am – 12:30 pm, Mondays & Wednesdays

    Mon, Aug 27: Class 1 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Wed, Aug 29: Class 2 - The Well-Being of a Child
    Tues, Sept 4: Class 3 - Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills – Please note change to Tuesday for Labor Day
    Wed, Sept 5: Class 4 - Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication
    Mon, Sept 10: Class 5 - Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence
    Wed, Sept 12: Class 6 - Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence
    Mon, Sept 17: Class 7 - Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth
    Wed, Sept 19: Class 8 - Wrapping Up

    Download a PDF copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle E2:  Aug 28 – Sept 28, 6:00 – 9:30 pm, Tuesdays & Thursdays

    Tues, Aug 28: Class 1 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, Aug 30: Class 2 - The Well-Being of a Child
    Tues, Sept 4: Class 3 - Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills
    Thurs, Sept 6: Class 4 - Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication
    Tues, Sept 11: Class 5 - Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence
    Thurs, Sept 13: Class 6 - Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence
    Tues, Sept 18: Class 7 - Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth
    Thurs, Sept 20: Class 8 - Wrapping Up

    Download a PDF copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle F1: Oct 15 – Nov 16, 9:00 am – 12:30 pm, Mondays & Wednesdays

    Mon, Oct 15: Class 1 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Wed, Oct 17: Class 2 - The Well-Being of a Child
    Mon, Oct 22: Class 3 - Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills
    Wed, Oct 24: Class 4 - Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication
    Mon, Oct 29: Class 5 - Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence
    Wed, Oct 31: Class 6 - Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence
    Mon, Nov 5: Class 7 - Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth
    Wed, Nov 7: Class 8 - Wrapping Up

    Download a PDF copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle F2:  Oct 16 – Nov 16, 6:00 – 9:30 pm, Tuesdays & Thursdays

    Tues, Oct 16: Class 1 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, Oct 18: Class 2 - The Well-Being of a Child
    Tues, Oct 23: Class 3 - Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills
    Thurs, Oct 25: Class 4 - Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication
    Tues, Oct 30: Class 5 - Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence
    Thurs, Nov 1: Class 6 - Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence
    Tues, Nov 6: Class 7 - Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth
    Thurs, Nov 8: Class 8 - Wrapping Up

    Download a PDF copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle F3: November 26 – Dec 12, Fast Track

    Mon, Nov 26, 6:00-9:30 pm: Class 1 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Tues, Nov 27, 6:00-9:30 pm: Class 2 - The Well-Being of a Child
    Wed, Nov 28, 6:00-9:30 pm: Class 3 - Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills
    Thurs, Nov 29, 6:00-9:30 pm: Class 4 - Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication
    Sat, Dec 1, 9:00 am-12:30 pm: Class 5 - Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence
    Sat, Dec 1, 1:30-5:00 pm: Class 6 - Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence
    Mon, Dec 3, 6:00-9:30 pm: Class 7 - Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth
    Tues, Dec 4, 6:00-9:30 pm: Class 8 - Wrapping Up

    Download a PDF copy of this schedule.

Additional Training Expectations

Pre-Work:  There will be approximately an hour of reading, videos and other Pre-Work prior to each of the 8 classes that you are expected to complete in order to fully participate in class.  

Courtroom Observation: 3 Hours of Courtroom Observation to be completed by the final Friday of the training cycle (Fast Track Deadline is December 12)

Swearing-In Ceremony: Attend this celebratory ceremony to take your volunteer oath after completing training. Tentative dates are:

Cycle D: Thursday, August 16th, 6:30 pm
Cycle E: Thursday, October 11th, 6:30 pm
Cycle F: Thursday, November 29th, 6:30 pm
Cycle F3 Fast Track: TBA

Confirmed dates and locations will be announced at the start of your training cycle.

Continuing Ed: You will be required to complete 12 hours of Continuing Education each year that you are an active volunteer. We offer a variety of trainings and activities to help volunteers complete this requirement. 


For questions regarding the training schedule please email volunteer@casatravis.org.