2017 Volunteer Training Schedule


The CASA Volunteer Training program consists of 8 in-person 3-hour classes, 4 online classes and 3 hours of courtroom observation (approximately 39 hours total) completed over a 5-week cycle. You must finish all training and observation within the 5 weeks and all background checks must be completed and cleared in order to be assigned to a case. Classroom sessions are scheduled on Mondays and Thursdays at 9:30 am and 6:30 pm with exceptions for holidays.

Training Cycle Dates & Calendars

Click on the cycle you're interested in to view the full calendar.

  • Cycle C1: May 1 - June 2, 9:30 am – 12:30 pm, Mondays & Thursdays

    Mon, May 1: CASA 101 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, May 4: Class 2 - Understanding Children
    By Sun, May 7: Complete Online Class 9 - Introducing the Child Welfare System
    Mon, May 8: Class 3 - Developing Cultural Competence
    Thurs, May 11: Class 4 - Domestic Violence & Communications Strategies
    By Sun, May 14: Complete Online Class 10 - Targeted Advocacy 
    Mon, May 15: Class 5 - Substance Abuse & Poverty
    Thurs, May 18: Class 6 - Family Strengths & Building Relationships 
    By Sun, May 21: Complete Online Class 11 - Court Report Prerequisite
    Mon, May 22: Class 7 - Documentation & Court Reports
    Thurs, May 25: Class 8 - Policies & Procedures
    By Sun, May 28: Complete Online Class 12 - Mental Health & Educational Advocacy

    Download a pdf copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle C2: May 1 - June 2, 6:30 – 9:30 pm, Mondays & Thursdays

    Mon, May 1: CASA 101 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, May 4: Class 2 - Understanding Children
    By Sun, May 7: Complete Online Class 9 - Introducing the Child Welfare System
    Mon, May 8: Class 3 - Developing Cultural Competence
    Thurs, May 11: Class 4 - Domestic Violence & Communications Strategies
    By Sun, May 14: Complete Online Class 10 - Targeted Advocacy 
    Mon, May 15: Class 5 - Substance Abuse & Poverty
    Thurs, May 18: Class 6 - Family Strengths & Building Relationships 
    By Sun, May 21: Complete Online Class 11 - Court Report Prerequisite
    Mon, May 22: Class 7 - Documentation & Court Reports
    Thurs, May 25: Class 8 - Policies & Procedures
    By Sun, May 28: Complete Online Class 12 - Mental Health & Educational Advocacy

    Download a pdf copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle D1: June 26 – July 28, 9:30 am – 12:30 pm, Mondays & Thursdays

    Mon, June 26: CASA 101 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, June 29: Class 2 - Understanding Children
    By Sun, July 2: Complete Online Class 9 - Introducing the Child Welfare System
    Wed, July 5: Class 3 - Developing Cultural Competence (Please note change to Wednesday for Independence Day)
    Thurs, July 6: Class 4 - Domestic Violence & Communications Strategies
    By Sun, July 9: Complete Online Class 10 - Targeted Advocacy 
    Mon, July 10: Class 5 - Substance Abuse & Poverty
    Thurs, July 13: Class 6 - Family Strengths & Building Relationships 
    By Sun, July 16: Complete Online Class 11 - Court Report Prerequisite
    Mon, July 17: Class 7 - Documentation & Court Reports
    Thurs, July 20: Class 8 - Policies & Procedures
    By Sun, July 23: Complete Online Class 12 - Mental Health & Educational Advocacy

    Download a pdf copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle D2: June 26 – July 28, 6:30 – 9:30 pm, Mondays & Thursdays

    Mon, June 26: CASA 101 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, June 29: Class 2 - Understanding Children
    By Sun, July 2: Complete Online Class 9 - Introducing the Child Welfare System
    Wed, July 5: Class 3 - Developing Cultural Competence (Please note change to Wednesday for Independence Day)
    Thurs, July 6: Class 4 - Domestic Violence & Communications Strategies
    By Sun, July 9: Complete Online Class 10 - Targeted Advocacy 
    Mon, July 10: Class 5 - Substance Abuse & Poverty
    Thurs, July 13: Class 6 - Family Strengths & Building Relationships 
    By Sun, July 16: Complete Online Class 11 - Court Report Prerequisite
    Mon, July 17: Class 7 - Documentation & Court Reports
    Thurs, July 20: Class 8 - Policies & Procedures
    By Sun, July 23: Complete Online Class 12 - Mental Health & Educational Advocacy

    Download a pdf copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle E1:  August 21 – September 22, 9:30 am – 12:30 pm, Mondays & Thursdays

    Mon, Aug 21: CASA 101 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, Aug 24: Class 2 - Understanding Children
    By Sun, Aug 27: Complete Online Class 9 - Introducing the Child Welfare System
    Mon, Aug 28: Class 3 - Developing Cultural Competence
    Thurs, Aug 31: Class 4 - Domestic Violence & Communications Strategies
    By Sun, Sept 3: Complete Online Class 10 - Targeted Advocacy 
    Tues, Sept 5: Class 5 - Substance Abuse & Poverty (Please note change to Tuesday for Labor Day)
    Thurs, Sept 7: Class 6 - Family Strengths & Building Relationships 
    By Sun, Sept 10: Complete Online Class 11 - Court Report Prerequisite
    Mon, Sept 11: Class 7 - Documentation & Court Reports
    Thurs, Sept 14: Class 8 - Policies & Procedures
    By Sun, Sept 17: Complete Online Class 12 - Mental Health & Educational Advocacy

    Download a pdf copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle E2: August 21 – September 22, 6:30 – 9:30 pm, Mondays & Thursdays

    Mon, Aug 21: CASA 101 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, Aug 24: Class 2 - Understanding Children
    By Sun, Aug 27: Complete Online Class 9 - Introducing the Child Welfare System
    Mon, Aug 28: Class 3 - Developing Cultural Competence
    Thurs, Aug 31: Class 4 - Domestic Violence & Communications Strategies
    By Sun, Sept 3: Complete Online Class 10 - Targeted Advocacy 
    Tues, Sept 5: Class 5 - Substance Abuse & Poverty (Please note change to Tuesday for Labor Day)
    Thurs, Sept 7: Class 6 - Family Strengths & Building Relationships 
    By Sun, Sept 10: Complete Online Class 11 - Court Report Prerequisite
    Mon, Sept 11: Class 7 - Documentation & Court Reports
    Thurs, Sept 14: Class 8 - Policies & Procedures
    By Sun, Sept 17: Complete Online Class 12 - Mental Health & Educational Advocacy

    Download a pdf copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle F1:  October 16 – November 17, 9:30 am – 12:30 pm, Mondays & Thursdays

    Mon, Oct 16: CASA 101 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, Oct 19: Class 2 - Understanding Children
    By Sun, Oct 22: Complete Online Class 9 - Introducing the Child Welfare System
    Mon, Oct 23: Class 3 - Developing Cultural Competence
    Thurs, Oct 26: Class 4 - Domestic Violence & Communications Strategies
    By Sun, Oct 29: Complete Online Class 10 - Targeted Advocacy 
    Mon, Oct 30: Class 5 - Substance Abuse & Poverty
    Thurs, Nov 2: Class 6 - Family Strengths & Building Relationships 
    By Sun, Nov 5: Complete Online Class 11 - Court Report Prerequisite
    Mon, Nov 6: Class 7 - Documentation & Court Reports
    Thurs, Nov 9: Class 8 - Policies & Procedures
    By Sun, Nov 12: Complete Online Class 12 - Mental Health & Educational Advocacy

    Download a pdf copy of this schedule.

  • Cycle F2: October 16 – November 17, 6:30 – 9:30 pm, Mondays & Thursdays

    Mon, Oct 16: CASA 101 - Introducing the CASA/GAL Volunteer Role
    Thurs, Oct 19: Class 2 - Understanding Children
    By Sun, Oct 22: Complete Online Class 9 - Introducing the Child Welfare System
    Mon, Oct 23: Class 3 - Developing Cultural Competence
    Thurs, Oct 26: Class 4 - Domestic Violence & Communications Strategies
    By Sun, Oct 29: Complete Online Class 10 - Targeted Advocacy 
    Mon, Oct 30: Class 5 - Substance Abuse & Poverty
    Thurs, Nov 2: Class 6 - Family Strengths & Building Relationships 
    By Sun, Nov 5: Complete Online Class 11 - Court Report Prerequisite
    Mon, Nov 6: Class 7 - Documentation & Court Reports
    Thurs, Nov 9: Class 8 - Policies & Procedures
    By Sun, Nov 12: Complete Online Class 12 - Mental Health & Educational Advocacy

    Download a pdf copy of this schedule.

Additional Training Expectations

Courtroom Observation: 3 Hours of Courtroom Observation to be completed by the final Friday of the training cycle

Swearing-In Ceremony: Attend this celebratory ceremony to take your volunteer oath after completing training. The 2017 dates are:

Cycle C: Tuesday, June 13
Cycle D: Thursday, August 10
Cycle E: Thursday, October 5
Cycle F: Thursday, November 30

Swearing-In Ceremonies are typically held at 6:30 pm at Gardner Betts Juvenile Justice Center, 2515 S Congress Ave, Austin 78704.

Continuing Ed: You will be required to complete 12 hours of Continuing Education each year that you are an active volunteer. We offer a variety of trainings and activities to help volunteers complete this requirement. 


For questions regarding the training schedule please email volunteer@casatravis.org.